A chalet serving light refreshments located right by the gorges de l'Arveyron (canyon), offering a view of Les Drus and the Chamonix valley.
La Buvette du Chapeau snack bar we can see today is not the first to sport its name...
In 1855, a refuge was set up to welcome the many tourists and guides who crossed the Mer de Glace from Montenvers. For almost a century, the Le Chapeau refuge was an almost mandatory stop on the Le Mauvais Pas hiking trail. Le Chapeau is like a reward with its tasty fare and stunning view over the Chamonix Valley.
After a landslide in the winter of 1953, it was ruled that the Le Chapeau refuge was too exposed to rock falls and other dangers.
In 1954, Gilberte and Luc Couttet took guardianship of Le Chapeau snack bar for the next twenty years and decide to rebuild it near the site of the old chalet site but away from potential landslides.
Luc and his sons Freddy and Michel set to work and built the Le Chapeau snack bar that still stands today, up against the rock face.
Le Chapeau remains a family establishment, managed by Thierry Couttet, one of Michel’s sons, since 2011.